Click to Home

Go To Search
FacebookTwitterRSSCommunity VoiceMy Dashboard
City Council
The legislative powers of the City are vested in the Westfield City Council. The Westfield City Council is composed of 13 members, one from each of the six wards, and seven at-large representatives. The City Council is responsible for the approval of all financial appropriations and the adoption of an annual budget. Additionally, the City Council appoints the City Clerk, all of the financial department heads, and confirms mayoral appointments to most boards & commissions. The City Council is responsible for changes to all ordinances and zoning ordinances. The City Council also has the authority to grant certain licenses, special permits, and take land in the name of the city.

The Council must follow the city charter as their set of rules. The charter outlines what the government does and can do, including its roles and responsibilities to the public. 


  • 7 p.m.
  • First and Third Thursday of each month
  • Summer Meetings: First Thursday of July and Third Thursday of August
  • City Hall - Council Chambers, 2nd Floor
    59 Court Street
    Westfield, MA 01085

Meetings are broadcast live on local access cable channel 15, and rebroadcast on Sundays at 12:30 p.m. Prior week meetings are also rebroadcast on Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. when a live meeting is not scheduled.

Agendas & Minutes
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas

Special Permit Applications
Special Permits are to be reviewed and issued by the City Council.
Pending Applications

First Publication of an Order / Ordinance
The City Council is responsible for amending all changes to city ordinances. See all upcoming First Publications.
First Publications

Additional Postings
Westfield-Barnes Regional Airport Noise Compatibility Program Update

Council Member
 Ward / Position
 Mary Ann Babinski
 Ward 1
 Ralph J. Figy
 Ward 2
 Andrew K. Surprise  Ward 3
 Mary O'Connell           
 Ward 4
 Robert A. Paul, Sr.
 Ward 5
 William Onyski
 Ward 6
 Steven Dondley
 At Large
 Dan Allie
 At Large
 Brent B. Bean II
 At Large / Council President
 Dave Flaherty
 At Large
 Cindy C. Harris  At Large
 Daniel Knapik
 At Large
 Matthew T. VanHeynigen
 At Large